Did you know that:

Illustration of a generic web page with a red x in it

98% of websites are inaccessible?
Illustration of a generic web page with the icon of a man in a wheelchair inside

20% of the world population has a disability?

Most countries have already incorporated web accessibility into existing legislation



WCAG 2.1 is a 1,000 pages guide that explains how accessible websites should look and function for people with disabilities, a group that comprises about 20% of the world’s population.

The WCAG covers the needs of a wide range of disabilities, especially visual impaired people, and their use of screen-readers as JAWS, NVDA and Voiceover, people with mobility impairments and their needs for keyboard navigation, people with epilepsy, colour blindness, cognitive and learning disorders and other visual impairments.

Read more


In 2010, UE officials adopted WCAG 2.0 Level AA as mandatory for all official EU websites, extending it to all public sector web platforms, including WCAG 2.1 in 2016.

The EU adopted WCAG 2.1 as standard for the new European Accessibility Act (EAA), which will become law in 2025.

Read more

Stanca Law

The Italian relevant regulation for the web accessibility is the Law No. 4/2004 (Stanca Law).

In 2018, implementing the Legislative Decree No.106 amending and upgrading Law No. 4/2004, Italy incorporated the Directive (EU) 2016/2102, aimed at improving the accessibility of websites and mobile apps in the public sector of each EU Member State.

Read more

Failure to comply is punishable by law

Article 9 of the so called “Stanca Law”, assigns to “responsible managers” (Art. 9 co. 1) of public service providers the responsibility related to compliance with the regulations.  

The rule goes on to state that non-compliance by Private Providers with the aforementioned provisions will be ascertained and sanctioned by AgID (without prejudice to the right of the discriminated party to act personally).

Who needs to be accessible:

In Italy, according to the so called "Legge Stanca" that transposes the "European Accessibility Act", already from September 23, 2020 full compliance with WCAG 2.1 standards is required to the following categories:

  • Public Administrations
  • Public economic entities
  • Private Companies Concessionaires
    of Public Services
  • Regional Municipal Companies
  • Public Assistance and Rehabilitation Agencies
  • Transport Companies
  • Telecommunication
  • IT service contractors
  • Public law bodies
  • All subjects that benefit from
    of public contributions or facilities for
    the provision of their services through
    information systems or the internet
  • Large companies (with turnover exceeding 500 million euros)
Make your website accessible

Protect yourself with the certificate!

In the AccessiWay interface you will find a text that can be used to fill out your Declaration of Accessibility required by AgID. This is a text that can be consulted by everyone, in which the adjustments made by AccessiWay to make the site accessible are explained.

Download an example

Find out if your website is accessible!

Analyse your website